CFAES Give Today

Department of Animal Sciences


The Ohio State University Animal Science Hall of Fame

The Animal Science Hall of Fame started in 1943 as the Animal Husbandry Hall of Fame. The purpose of the award at the time, in a quote by Professor Donald Kays, chairman of the department of animal husbandry, was to "give recognition to an Ohio State alumnus who has devoted the best years of his life to an effective service to the needs of the livestock men of this nation." Over the years, men and women who have dedicated service to the livestock industry in general in a number of different ways have been recognized with this honor.


Selection is made by the Special Recognitions Committee of the Faculty. Nominations may be made by Departmental Faculty and Staff or by Alumni.


Today, the following criteria need to be considered when making nominations. Selection is founded upon the judicious opinion of the Special Recognitions Committee of the Faculty.

a. Nominees will be considered who have been bona fide majors in Animal Science at The Ohio State University and have been graduated twenty (20) or more years.
b. Nominees must have demonstrated superior skill and achieved success for themselves.  The major activity must be in an area related to Animal Science.
c. The nominee shall have practiced service to others. Such activity includes giving of time, energy and thoughtfulness in the local community.  A reasonable amount of participation in statewide or national affairs is desirable.
d. Consideration of nominees among production, academic and allied industries will be used in selection.
e. Faculty and staff who have retired from the Department of Animal Science at Ohio State are not eligible.                                                                                                                            f. Nominations will remain active for a period of five years. 

Hall of Fame

The portrait of the honored guest will hang in the Department Hall of Fame in the Animal Science Building, 2029 Fyffe Road, The Ohio State University campus.

The award will be presented at the Animal Sciences Spring Awards Program.


Nominations are due by January 31st. Nominations should be sent to:

Dr. Kimberly Cole
The Ohio State University, Department of Animal Sciences
222D Animal Sciences Building, 2029 Fyffe Road
Columbus, OH  43210-1095
614-292-2625, Email:

Browse the gallery by year via the links at left.