CFAES Give Today

Department of Animal Sciences


2012 CFAES Alumni Awards Reception

April 2, 2012

The 2012 CFAES Alumni Awards Reception was held March 2, 2012, in the Animal Sciences arena. The recipients received their awards the following day at the CFAES Alumni Awards luncheon. Three Department of Animal Sciences alumni were honored this year: Blaine Crosser - Distinguished Alumni Award - Dairy Science (BS 1976), Agricultural Economics (MS 1977). Nominated by Lee Kohler. Mr. Crosser was recognized for 33 years of exceptional service and leadership at Select Sires, Inc, and for his dedication in developing and improving the Guernsey breed. Kreg Leymaster - Distinguished Alumni Award - PhD OSU 1977. Nominated by Mike Davis. Dr. Leymaster was recognized for his outstanding record in animal genetics, specifically in sheep and swine, and for his quantitative and genomic methods in large scale experiments to estimate genetic effects on key traits conducted while a scientist with the U.S. Meat Animal Research Center since 1978. Byung Ryul (Barry) Choi - International Alumni Award - Animal Nutrition (PhD 1996) (unable to attend the reception and luncheon ceremonies). Nominated by Donald Palmquist. Dr. Choi was recognized as a leader in Korea for his outstanding career in feeds and animal nutrition and for his continued contributions as an animal researcher and consultant in the animal industry.