CFAES Give Today

Department of Animal Sciences


Animal Sciences Recognition Banquet 2013

April 22, 2013

The Ohio State University Department of Animal Sciences held its first Recognition Banquet, An Evening of Excellence, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Ballroom Saturday, April 20. The banquet was a combination of annual events, including the Animal Science Hall of Fame and the Dairy Science Hall of Service ceremonies. The evening began with a recognition of scholarship recipients and then of undergraduate researchers who displayed their research posters at the CFAES and Denman Undergraduate Research Forums. Next, co-curricular teams were recognized by their coaches. This included the Academic Quadrathlon Team (Coach Dustin Boler), the Dairy Judging Team (Coach Bonnie Ayars), the Dairy Challenge Team (Coach Maurice Eastridge), the Horse Judging Team (Coach Masa Alman), the Livestock Judging Team (Coach Kyle Culp), the Meat Judging Team (Henry Zerby), and the Poultry Judging Team (Coach Michael Cressman). The program continued with the American Society of Animal Science (ASAS) Undergraduate Academic Recognition, which recognized Junior and Senior rank students who are scholastically among the top 10% of the junior and senior class, of good moral character, and intending to pursue a career in animal science. Read more at:

Outstanding student awards included the George Johnson Award, for the senior with the highest grade point average; the Waldock Brothers Award, for an outstanding Animal Sciences senior with a combination of scholarship, leadership, and service; and the Kunkle Award, for an outstanding Animal Sciences graduate student with distinguished academic accomplishments, service, and credibility. The honorees included Rose Stankiewicz, Lauren Eisemann, and Michael Cress, respectively. The highlights of the night were the Animal Science Hall of Fame and Dairy Science Hall of Service ceremonies. Frank Phelps, Class of 1974, was inducted into the Hall of Fame. John Douglas, Class of 1984, was inducted into the Dairy Hall of Service. Read more at the following links: