CFAES Give Today

Department of Animal Sciences


Faculty Members Nationally Recognized

July 18, 2013

Four Department of Animal Sciences faculty members have been recognized this summer by national organizations.

Dr. Steve Loerch was named a Fellow July 9 by the American Society of Animal Science (ASAS) for his research. The award came during the Joint Annual Meeting (JAM) of the American Dairy Science Association (ADSA) and ASAS. The purpose of the Fellows Award is "To recognize distinguished service to animal science and the livestock industry over a long period of time." Read more at

Dr. Maurice Eastridge received the Nutrition Professionals Inc. Applied Dairy Nutrition Award at the ADSA Awards program at JAM July 10. The purpose of the award is "To stimulate and recognize outstanding achievement in research, teaching, extension and/or industry in applied dairy nutrition." Read more at Press Release (click here).

Dr. Stephen Boyles received a North American Colleges & Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA) Teacher Fellow Award at the 2013 NACTA Conference in June. One of the central purposes of NACTA  is to recognize those individuals whose efforts represent the very best in agricultural higher education. The NACTA Teacher Fellow Award is a criterion based award and is reviewed by a committee of NACTA members. Photos available at

Dr. Michael Lilburn was recognized by the Poultry Science Association with the award of Fellow. In addition, he was awarded the Maple Leaf Farms Duck Research Award. These accolades came at the Poultry Science Association 102nd annual meeting in San Diego, CA, at the awards celebration July 25. Awards Recognition:

Awards info: