CFAES Give Today

Department of Animal Sciences


Judging Team Banquet 2013

April 22, 2013

The Ohio State University Department of Animal Sciences' Livestock and Meat Judging Team Banquet was held Friday (4/19) night and attracted a large crowd at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Ballroom in Dublin, OH. Current and past judging team members and their families and friends gathered to recognize the current teams as well as 5 (2007), 10 (2002), 25 (1987), and 50 (1962) year anniversary teams and all other team members who could make the event. Live and silent auctions rounded out the evening. The night was hosted by Mr. Kyle Culp and Dr. Henry Zerby. Culp is a Lecturer in the department as well as the Livestock Judging Team Coach. Zerby is a department Professor who helps with the Meat Judging Team as Coach and coordinator. The late Professor Paul G. Althouse coached the 1962 and 1987 meat judging teams, Deana Bapst Jewell coached the 2002 team, Stacey Johnson coached the 2007 team, and Caitlin Bushman coached the 2012 team. On the livestock judging side, Dr. Randall Reed coached the 1962 team; Dr. Tom Turner coached the 1987, 2002, and 2007 teams; and Kyle Culp coached the 2012 team.