CFAES Give Today

Department of Animal Sciences


Animal Sciences Students Honored

March 20, 2014

The following students were honored with these prestigious awards at the Department of Animal Sciences 2014 Evening of Excellence Recognition Banquet on March 22.

Waldock Brothers Award: Kristy Klingenberg

Recognized for a combination of scholarship, leadership, and service to the Department of Animal Sciences, the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, The Ohio State University and the communities served. 

The award originates with the Waldock Brothers, Jack and Bill, and recognized their dedication to high-quality education within the Department of Animal Sciences.

G. R. Johnson Award: Caitlyn Mullins

Exceptional senior in the Department of Animal Sciences with the highest grade point average.

Dr. Johnson was chair of the Department of Animal Science from 1958 to 1983 and stressed the importance of academics, and therefore, decided to establish this award in 1986.

L. E. Kunkle Award: Jessica Pempek (shown in photo)

Outstanding graduate student from the Department of Animal Sciences who has distinguished academic accomplishments, as well as service to the department and fellow graduate students, and credibility as a University and community citizen.

The sons of L. E. Kunkle have chosen to honor their Dad by providing, in his name, recognition to an outstanding graduate student.