CFAES Give Today

Department of Animal Sciences


Bielke and Clark Receive Awards at the Poultry Science Association Annual Meeting

Aug. 13, 2018
Dr. Lisa Bielke receives her award

Drs. Lisa Bielke and Daniel Clark, assistant professors in the Department of Animal Sciences, earned awards at the Poultry Science Association (PSA) Annual Meeting. Bielke received the 2018 Novus Outstanding Scholar award; Clark received the Hy-Line International Research Award.

The Novus Outstanding Scholar award is given to an individual who serves as an exemplary scholar in her area of expertise who has made significant contributions to the industry through her work. The selection is organized by Novus’s industry-leading research and development and technical service teams. Bielke focuses her current research on poultry health with emphasis on enteric diseases and the ante mortem control of food pathogens, including projects developing vaccine technologies, probiotics and creating tools and assays to better assess gastrointestinal challenges.

The Hy-Line International Research Award is given to a member of the PSA who in the preceding five calendar years has, as sole or senior author, published outstanding research. To be eligible for this award, nominees must have received their final academic degree within the 10 years prior to the granting of the award. Clark's research focuses on muscle growth and meat quality. This includes his research with Dr. Sandra Velleman on the poultry muscle defect called wooden breast.

The 2018 Poultry Science Association Annual Meeting was held July 23-26 in San Antonio, Texas.

Dr. Lisa BielkeDr. Daniel Clark