CFAES Give Today

Department of Animal Sciences


An Evening of Excellence 2015

March 30, 2015

The Department of Animal Sciences held its 3rd annual recognition program, An Evening of Excellence, at The Fawcett Center Friday, March 27. The evening begin with a social hour featuring Ohio State Meat Shoppe meats and Cooper Farms turkey prepared in creative dishes by The Fawcett Center Chef. After an hour of mingling, the Program began with honors for students, alumni, and friends.

  • 2014-2015 Academic Year Scholarship recipients were recognized. Click link for names.
  • Undergrad researchers were noted, including those who participated in the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences and the Denman Undergraduate Research Forums
  • Co-curricular teams were honored, including 10-, 25-, and 50-year anniversary livestock and meat judging teams
  • ASAS Scholar recognition was noted
  • The Dr. G. R. Johnson award (exceptional senior in the Department of Animal Sciences with the highest grade point average) was presented to Caitlyn Mullins
  • The Waldock Brothers award (outstanding senior in Animal Sciences who is recognized for a combination of scholarship, leadership, and service to the Department of Animal Sciences, the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, The Ohio State University, and the communities served) was presented to Caitlyn Mullins
  • The Kunkle award (outstanding graduate student in Animal Sciences that has distinguished academic accomplishments, provided service to the department and fellow graduate students, and has credibility as a University and community citizen) was presented to Bo Harstine
  • Dr. Steven DeBruin was inducted into the 2015 Animal Science Hall of Fame. Click for more info and photos.
  • Drs. Leon Weaver and Bruce Hull were inducted into the 2015 Dairy Science Hall of Service. Click for more info and photos.