CFAES Give Today

Department of Animal Sciences


Jeff Firkins 2022-2023 Distinguished Senior Faculty Research Award Recipient and Maurice Eastridge 2022-2023 Distinguished Extension Faculty Award Recipient

March 6, 2023

The Ohio State University CFAES presented the 2022-2023 CFAES faculty award recipients on March 23, 2023. The event took place prior to the State of the College address which also took place March 23. Dean Kress took part in the event which was held at the Nationwide and Ohio Farm Bureau 4-H Center Auditorium in Columbus, Ohio.  To view the recorded awards program Click Here. To see a list of all of this years awards recipients Click Here.

Jeff Firkins 2022-2023 Distinguished Senior Faculty Research Award Recipient

After a Ph.D. and postdoc at the University of Illinois, Jeff Firkins started at OSU in 1987 and was promoted to Professor in 2000. He has advised Jeff Firkins 2022-2023 Distinguished Senior Faculty Research Award. and served on committees of nearly 100 graduate students including 7 Ph.D.'s from other countries. He served multiple terms on competitive grant panels (manager twice) and numerous planning committees for international conferences in gut microbiology and fuminant physiology. He served six terms as a section editor for three journals. He was a member of the update committee for NASEM's Nutrient Requirments of Dairy Cattle. OUt of about 600 publications and presentations, he has about 160 journal articles and reviews and about 200 invited presentations in more than 20 countries. He was numerous awards, including Fellow of ADSA (2020). He was director or associate director of OSU's interdepartmental nutrition doctoral program for 19 years and provided service to OSU and societies in numerous capacities. 


Maurice Eastridge 2022-2023 Distinguished Extension Faculty Award

Maurice Eastridge, Professor and Extension Dairy Specialist, has been on the faculty in the Department of AnimalMaurice Eastridge Sciences at OSU since March 1986. He also currently serves as Senior Associate Chair of the Department. His responsibilities include teaching, Extension, and research in dairy cattle nutrition and management. At the university and college levels, he has been recognized for his outstanding service to students and student development, and he has received several awards for his Extension and research programs, including the DeLaval Dairy Extension Award, Applied Dairy Nutrition Award, and Purina Teaching Award from the American Dairy Science Association. He was inducted into the Ohio State Fair Hall of Fame in 2022. He chairs the Board of Directors for the Tri-State Dairy Nutrition Conference, has served as Chair of the Board of Directors for the North American Intercollegiate Dairy Challenge, and is editor of the bi-monthly publication, Buckeye Dairy News.