Alumni Newsletter : Alumni Newletter - Spring 2019

Information for future newsletters can be sent to Amber Robinson
  1. Our Animal Sciences alumni are making the news!

    Information courtesy of CFAES Office of Advancement:

  2. Dr. Peter W. Spike, Ph.D., age 78, Emeritus Associate Professor at The Ohio State University and passionate Holstein dairyman, passed away April 17, 2019.

  3. The Department of Animal Sciences awarded 106 undergraduate and two graduate degrees during the spring commencement ceremony.

  4. CHAIRE is excited to announce that Dr. Temple Grandin will be the keynote speaker for the Annual Fundraising Event on September 30!

  5. The Department of Animal Sciences has awarded $117,150 in scholarships for the 2019-2020 academic year. Thank you to all of the alumni, former faculty and staff, and organizations who support our students!

  6. Professor William "Bill" Weiss, OARDC Animal Sciences, will be inducted into the third group of the Journal of Dairy Science (JDS) Club 100.

  7. Dr. Chanhee Lee, assistant professor, received an Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award. The Office of Student Academic Success—Undergraduate Research & Creative Inquiry (UR&CI)-- offers the Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award, to honor individuals who have demonstrated success in mentoring undergraduates in their research and/or creative inquiry endeavors.

  8. CQUniversity Australia PhD candidate, Anita Chang, recently completed a trial at The Ohio State Beef Center, located at Don Scott Field. The trial, part of Chang's dissertation research, was focused on detecting parturition in beef cattle using accelerometer ear tags (essentially like a Fitbit for a cow). She utilized two accelerometers – one research grade and one that is commercially available, to determine if it was possible to measure the changes in behavior that is associated with calving.

  9. The Ohio State University Thermal Processing of Ready-to-Eat Meat Products is a three-day short course, offered the first time in 2000, that covers all of the technical and regulatory aspects of cooking, chilling and post-package handling of ready-to-eat meat products. 

  10. The Ohio State Poultry Judging Team placed 2nd overall in the 72nd USPOULTRY Foundation Ted Cameron National Poultry Judging Contest.

  11. Check out some of the Waterman Dairy Farm activities from spring 2019!

  12. The 12th annual Buckeye Bonanza Horse Sale had a record year. The high seller was Nitas Last King (Hogan) at $6,200 and the sale horses (all bred, foaled, and raised at The Ohio State University) averaged $3,700! Proceeds from the sales of the horses go directly to the equine program so that it can continue to provide students with valuable educational experiences.

  13. Three Animal Sciences students, Karaline Boso, Sarah Doner and Xamarie Ruiz, were selected to the Sesquicentennial Student Scholar Leadership Program.

  14. Three Animal Sciences students were selected by a National Pork Board Committee for a Pork Industry Scholarship.

  15. Two Animal Sciences students received awards at the 2019 Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Related Sciences (MANRRS) National Conference. Jenna Parker, first-year student from Piqua, OH, won 2nd place in the Undergraduate Oral Research Div II, with her topic, Not Everything with Wings was Meant to Fly: How Sanitary Products can Impact Women's Health. Amber Cleggett, first-year student with a minor in history from Cleveland, was awarded a John Deere scholarship for excelling in academics, extra-curricular activities, MANRRS and community involvement.

  16. The Department of Animal Sciences students, organizations, faculty and staff were recognized in multiple categories at The College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) Celebration of Students Program. The celebration was held in the Archie Griffin Ballroom in the Ohio Union on April 4, 2019.

  17. Mr. Steve Moff was inducted into the Dairy Science Hall of Service on April 4, 2019. The event took place during the Celebration of Excellence recognition program hosted by the Department of Animal Sciences.

  18. Dr. Danny Fox was inducted into the Animal Science Hall of Fame on April 4, 2019. The event took place during the Celebration of Excellence recognition program hosted by the Department of Animal Sciences. The following is his induction citation.

  19. The Department of Animal Sciences held the Celebration of Excellence on April 4, 2019 at The Fawcett Center. Highlights included scholarship and ASAS recognition. Additionally, a new tradition, a "Senior Pinning" ceremony, was held honoring all of the graduating seniors in attendance.

  20. FAIRFIELD COUNTY, OHIO – County farmer Connie Smith, directed $2,500 to The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences through America’s Farmers Grow Communities, sponsored by the Monsanto Fund, a philanthropic arm of Bayer.

  21. The Department of Animal Sciences was honored to have five of the 25 CFAES Distinguished Seniors. Seniors Anna Garrett, Heather Pechtl, Ariel Taylor, Megan Whalin, and Emily Winson were awarded the honor.

  22. Three Animal Sciences seniors were selected for awards at the 24th Annual Denman Undergraduate Research Forum, held on February 20th, 2019. Heather Pechtl placed second and Alyson Linton placed third in the Conservation and Development category. Megan Whalin's video submission was selected as one of the four Outstanding Video Submissions.

  23. Recently, Dairy Extension and Teaching Specialist, Bonnie Ayars, provided the keynote speech for the 2019 Minnesota All Breeds Dairy Convention. Ayars spoke during the All-Breeds Banquet about "true grit".

  24. OARDC/Krauss Dairy Center was recognized by the National Mastitis Council for quality milk production.

  25. Agersens and the Department of Animal Sciences at The Ohio State University have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) that paves the way for the two organizations to implement research trials.

  26. The CFAES Alumni Society selected two Animal Sciences alumni, Drs. Bo Harstine and Leandro Cruppe, for awards at the 2019 CFAES Alumni Awards Program.

Subscribe to RSS - Alumni Newsletter