2019 Celebration of Excellence

The Department of Animal Sciences held the Celebration of Excellence on April 4, 2019 at The Fawcett Center. Highlights included scholarship and ASAS recognition. Additionally, a new tradition, a "Senior Pinning" ceremony, was held honoring all of the graduating seniors in attendance.

Groups of juniors and seniors received undergraduate recognition from the American Society of Animal Science (ASAS). To receive ASAS recognition, students must be: enrolled in a four-year curriculum of animal sciences, ranked scholastically in the top 10% of the junior or senior classes, have good moral character, and intend to pursue a career in animal science.

The following are senior rank ASAS recipients:

•Kaci AgerAnimal Sciences seniors in attendance
•Madison Baker
•Courtney Baker
•Katherine Chen
•James Constantino
•Lauryn Cooper
•Annika Diaz
•Tarshangi Dixit
•Jamie Dunaisky
•Zachary England
•Brianne Flanagan
•Cameron Goldston
•Heather Kaplan
•Jessica Koker
•Sidney Long
•Ashley MandelDr. George R. Johnson Award winner Courtney Baker
•Emily Nelson
•Abby Orellana
•Heather Pechtl
•Andrea Prowant
•Caleb Rykaczewski
•Isabelle Schlachter
•Emilia Sgambati
•Kaylee Shrock
•Meghan Smith
•Madelyn Spooner
•Claudia Tellman
•Rachel Van Bramer
•Megan Whalin
The following are junior rank ASAS recipients:
•Anastasia Alkhimovitch
•Ningzhu Bai
•Madelyn Eggeman
•Rebekah Fries
•John GilsonWaldock Brothers Award winner Ariel Taylor
•Brook Hair
•Sierra Kilbert
•Rachel Kopniske
•Carley LaDu
•Brietta Latham
•Miranda Lauchard
•Amanda Nall
•Madison Pinkerton
•Joshua Strine
•Sydney Sweet
•Andrew Toth
•Cameron White


Individuals honored for Outstanding Student Awards were:

  • Dr. George R. Johnson Scholarship Award (Senior or Junior with the Highest GPA)
    • Courtney Baker
  • Waldock Brothers Award (Outstanding Senior in Animal Sciences)
    • Ariel TaylorL.E. Kunkle Award winner Alex Tebbe
  • L.E. Kunkle Award (Outstanding Graduate Student in Animal Sciences)
    • Alex Tebbe

The final portion of the program was dedicated to individuals who have dedicated their careers to the improvement of animal and meat sciences. The Animal Science Hall of Fame induction ceremony honored Dr. Danny Fox, while the Dairy Science Hall of Service induction ceremony honored Mr. Steve Moff.