CFAES Give Today

Department of Animal Sciences


OSU Denman Undergraduate Research Forum Results

Undergraduate research was the focus of another recent event at Ohio State. The Richard J. and Martha D. Denman Undergraduate Research Forum was held March 30. Eighteen animal sciences students presented their research posters. The following awards were given:

1. Rachel Woodfint (Advisor: Kichoon Lee): Identification of Mucin 2 as a strong promoter for gut-specific genes
3. Jared Ashworth (Advisor: Jeffrey Firkins): Mitigation of methane in dairy cows by nitrate feed and yea-sacc supplementation
Honorable Mention. Clint Gasser (Advisor: Jeffrey Firkins): The effects of the interaction between nitrate and protozoa on methane production in continuous culture fermenters
Honorable Mention. Rachel Park (Advisor: Monique Pairis-Garcia, Magnus Campler): Impact of sow lameness on piglet weight and mortality
Honorable Mention: Ju Yeon (Jennifer) Park (Advisor: Kichoon Lee): Generation of knockout quail using the CRISPR-Cas9 system

2. John Rowe (Advisor: Prosper Boyaka): Role of intestinal epithelial cells NF-kB in host response to ingestion of low doses of cadmium

Visit news story here for photos.

Visit the Denman web pages for a full list of presenters and abstracts.